Core Organic
Core Organic I and II

Find information about CORE Organic I and CORE Organic II


Find information about CORE Organic Plus

Organic eprints

Search the Organic eprints archive


Find more search options at



CORE Organic is the acronym for "Coordination of European Transnational Research in Organic Food and Farming Systems". As an ERA-NET action, it intends to increase cooperation between national research activities. CORE Organic Plus is the continuation of the ERA-Nets CORE Organic I and CORE Organic II. Compared to the previous CORE Organic ERA-Nets the Plus ERA-Net will benefit from an additional top-up funding by the European Commission.

CORE Organic Plus consists of 24 partners from 21 countries/regions.

The overall objective of CORE Organic is to enhance quality, relevance and utilization of resources in European research in organic food and farming and to establish a joint pool for financing transnational research in organic food and farming.

The background for this objective is that the public European research and development effort in organic food and farming is characterized by small research communities, often scattered and fragmented both geographically and institutionally. This generates a need for gathering the dispersed expertise into a critical mass, to maintain and increase the competitive quality and relevance of research.


The calls since the beginning of CORE Organic are described HERE


CORE Organic Plus consists of the following fund owners or fund managers:




1. International Centre for Research in Organic Food Systems, Aarhus University (ICROFS), Denmark
Mr Niels Halberg MsIvana Trkulja

2. Federal Agency of Agriculture and Food (BLE), Germany
Ms Elke Saggau Ms Arnd Bassler

3. Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Vlaams Gewest (DLV), Flanders, Belgium
Mr Johan Verstrynge Ms Marleen Mertensl

4. Walloon Agricultural Research Centre CRA-W
Dr. Ir. Jean-Pierre Destain Dr. Ir. Marc Lateur
Ms Veronique Dewasme, Service public de Wallonie

5. Ministry of Food Agriculture and Fisheries, Danish AgriFish Agency, Denmark
Mr Uffe Rasmussen

Ms Karen Munch Mortensen


6. Ministry of Agriculture (PMin), Estonia

Ms Maarja Malm Mr Martin Kukk

7. Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (MMM), Finland
Ms Suvi Ryynänen

Ms Seija Ahonen-Siivola


8. French Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Fisheries (MAAF), France

Mr Pierre Grenier

Mrs Valérie Dehaudt


9. National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France

Mr Hervé Guyomard Mr Stéphane Bellon

10. Federal Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Consumer Protection (BMELV), Germany
Mrs Elisabeth Bünder Ms Barbara Weber

11. Ministero delle Politiche Agricole, Alimentari e Forestali (MIPAAF), Italy
Ms Serenella Puliga Ms. Elena Capolino

12. Latvian State Institute of Agrarian Economics (LSIAE), Latvia
Ms Ligita Melece Ms. Agnese Krieviņa


13. Ministry of Agriculture (ZUM), Lithuania

Mr Vilius Martusevicius Ms Neda Jakubauskiene

14. Ministry of Economic Affairs (MinEZ), Netherlands
Ms Annette Wijering Eric Regouin
Marian Blom, Bionext

15. The Research Council of Norway (RCN), Norway
Ms Unni Røst Ms Siri Anzjøn


16. The National Centre for Research and Development (NCBR), Poland

Dr Anna Ostapczuk Mr. Piotr Pryciński
Dr Agnieszka Chmielewska


17. The Executive Unit for Financing Higher Education, Research, Development and Innovation (UEFISCDI), Romania

Ms Nastasia Belc

Ms Luciana Bratu

Mr Adrian Asanica


18. Ministry of Agriculture and the Environment (MAE), Slovenia

Ms Jana Erjavec Ms Metka Kalinšek


19. National Institute for Agriculture and Food Research and Technology (INIA), Spain

Dr Antonieta de Cal y Cortina Ms Anabel de la Peña


20. Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Science and Spatial Planning (Formas), Sweden

Ms Susanne Johansson Mr Henrik Lange

21. Federal Office for Agriculture (FOAG), Switzerland
Mr Markus Lötscher  

22. Ministry of Food, Agriculture and Livestock (GDAR), Turkey
Dr Şahin Anil Ms Ayşen Alay Vural
Ms Saziye Sekerci

23. The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA), United Kingdom
Mr Dan McGonigle
Mr Matthew Heaton, Natural England


24. Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management

Mr Stefan Vetter Ms Elisabeth Hochwater


Subscribe to the newsletter
Subscribe to the CORE Organic Newsletter

View previous newsletters.

Contact CORE Organic

CORE Organic is coordinated by International Centre for Research in Organic Food Systems, ICROFS
Phone: +45 87157716 (Ivana Trkulja)


Go to the CORE Organic frontpage